Boston Sunrise Photoshoot

The theme of this shoot was wind, water, earth and fire.
My vision was a girl on the shore at sunrise, incorporating these elements. While I was out in Boston Harbor a few weeks ago, I saw a ton of old pillars in the water from old docks. I instantly had to shoot this idea there.
Hailey, who is not even a practicing model, said she would not mind waking up at the crack of dawn to shoot this idea with me.
I met Hailey on this first SHOOT, and she absolutely killed it both times. I couldn’t have been happier about it.

My trusted photo friend Julie Cordeiro said she would assist me. I believe I lured her in over a few cocktails at dinner 2 nights prior. I couldn’t have done it without her. She helped with some angles, and pulled me out of my one vision mindset.

Couple quick observations.

I don’t believe you have to be there 1 hour ahead of sunrise to get the shot. Once the sun was all the way over the horizon, the light seemed to fall much nicer on her skin.

Always pre-scout your locations. Google Maps will not tell you, that low tide in Boston harbor is equivalent to sinking in quick sand, except nastier, muddier, smellier and buggier.

Always bring old towels to a shoot. You NEVER know what or who you might have to wipe down.

Having an assistant or another photographer at the shoot is under-rated. I once again couldn’t have done it without these 2 girls. I wanted to take them to breakfast, but we looked like we had just hitchhiked across the country in the back of a pick up truck filled with livestock… It was wild.

ENJOY!!!

colleen dubois_130621.8648 colleen dubois_130621.8644 colleen dubois_130621.8548 colleen dubois_130621.8542 colleen dubois_130621.8511 colleen dubois_130621.8460 colleen dubois_130621.8455

8 thoughts on “Boston Sunrise Photoshoot

  1. Colleen,
    I love this series of yours, to a point where I love Le Clown to be photographed by you one day.
    Le Clown

Leave a Reply

